Prescription Medications
Food labels must declare all wheat ingredients (but not barley or rye ingredients), making it easier for us to rule out particular products. But prescription drug manufacturers don't follow the same rules. Some prescription drugs contain gluten grains (almost always wheat) as a filler, and there's no requirement that they disclose the wheat or gluten to consumers.
In fact, it can be difficult to determine if the drug you're taking is gluten-free — ingredients can change, even on brand-name prescription drugs, and the company's customer service representatives may not know.
To cope with this problem, make sure your pharmacist knows you need to be gluten-free (and knows what "gluten-free" means). Also, double-check every single refill.